Accessibility:   A A

The Benefits of Community-Engaged Arts

Art-making, creativity and art expression bring children, youth, adults and seniors together in community studios that combine arts education, life-skills building, economic development and leadership.

Community-engaged arts benefit neighbourhoods and individuals by

Creating more vibrant neighbourhoods, improving crime prevention, enhancing mental and physical health, contributing to greater success in education and employment, increasing community involvement and engagement, as well as fostering neighbourhood revitalization.
This is proven time and time again within inner-city, distressed, or isolated communities across Canada.

Stories of community-engaged arts

We want to share with you, the inspiring stories of community-engaged arts making a difference in Canada. Take some time to browse and appreciate.  

Stories to read

  • DAREarts, Webequie, ON: In this story you’l l learn how the co-creation of a song empowered youth in a northern community.
  • The Nina Haggerty Centre for the Arts, Edmonton, AB: Read about the art and inspiring story of The Nina Haggerty Centre for the Arts, where adults with developmental disabilities focus on the creation of art and their development as artists. 
  • Le Festival de films par et pour les jeunes, Edmundston, NB: Discover this New Brunswick francophone festival that provides youth, ages 6-18, with a space to be heard. Youth are introduced to video production and their worked is screened. They also have access to screenings of videos directed by youth from around the world.

Videos to watch

  • BluePrintForLife, The Arctic: Inuit youth learn hip hop and free up their voices while connecting to their ancestral traditions and addressing important issues related to mental health, violence, drugs and alcohol, abuse and suicide.
  • Community Collaboration: ‘Placemaking’ Brings Halifax Neighbourhood Together, Halifax, NS: watch how city engineers and staff collaborated with community artists and residents to unite and strengthen one Halifax neighbourhood after a devastating car accident.
  • Leave Out Violence (LOVE), Halifax , NS : A video collection of stories from youth whose lives have been changes through media arts
  • Outside Looking In, Toronto, ON: Snippets and commentary from the 6th Annual Outside Looking In show June 6, 2012. First Nations youth perform live at St Lawrence Centre for the Arts.

What people are saying about ArtBridges/ToileDesArts: 

Thanks @ArtBridges ! A great resource for other exciting #communityarts projects across #Canada as well     - @muralroutes

 

The Michaëlle Jean Foundation enjoys receiving regular updates from ArtBridges, which provide us with such a rich and comprehensive appreciation of the vitality of the arts for social change sector across Canada. – Peter Flegel, Communications and Programs Director, Michaëlle Jean Foundation

 

ArtBridges has connected us with Aboriginal Organizations and other connections to art stores, etc. (…) We could not be happier with our relationship with ArtBridges [they] have really gone above and beyond to support our campaign and especially support our youth in the north.  Miigwetch.- Lauren Akbar, Youth Engagement Coordinator, Mamow Sha-way-gi-kay-win: North-South Partnership for Children 

 

I really appreciate your help connecting with SYiM (Southern Youth in Motion); it was a great day.  They also had an exhibit of art from the Pikangikum F.N.  I was up there as part of ArtsCanCircle/Carol Teal - she also got my material through ArtBridges.  Thanks for everything (…) Actually, Carol had pulled me from the ArtBridges information; than [sic] Lauren (SYiM) pulled me from ArtBridges, and when I was working the Peel Alternative School North in Brampton, I had met both of them back to back on the same day.  Imagine that. - Michael Cywink, Community Artist

 

Thank you for all the support you gave our project, and for the experience and knowledge that you shared. As all of us work as individual organizations to bring arts programming to young people with diverse experiences, we need that “spark” or momentum that comes from being connected to a larger network – a bigger picture of the community impact of our efforts. It [being connected] allows us to learn about, and connect with other organizations who share our vision. It also validates what we do, and strengthens our own efforts. There’s a tremendous trickle-down effect (as well as an efficiency) that comes with learning from others’ experiences as they work to achieve similar goals and objectives.

Some of the most valuable things that you did for me were: sharing your own and others’ experiences with program development, marketing, and funding; providing positive feedback regarding the direction of our program; and connecting us with the national movement to bring the arts (and their benefits) to kids who might not otherwise that the opportunity. You rejuvenated me and our program by bringing Focus on Nature into this network at a time when we were just starting to develop, feeling slightly isolated, and unsure of our direction and funding. Thank you!
- Shirley Hunt, MSW, Co-Founder of Focus on Nature, Guelph ON. “Inspiring children to explore and appreciate nature through photography”

Some of ArtBridges' successes

ArtBridging [ahrt-brij-ing] verb.

Creating networks and collaborations between community arts projects, programs, organizations and resources with the outcome being positive benefits to Canadian communities.
Origin: 2008 Artbridges/ToileDesArts

ArtBridging in Hay River, NWT
ArtBridges contacted 12 sources across ON, NWT, NFLD and the YUKON and advertised the need for a caribou hair-weaving instructor for an Inuit community in Nunavik (Northern Quebec). This community had the funding to fly in an instructor, but couldn’t find anyone, so they wrote to us. Through our connections and assistance, the community found and hired an art instructor from Hay River, NWT.

Fundraising for community-engaged arts in Ottawa

Students at the University of Ottawa needed to conduct a fundraising event for their studies in Education. One of the groups reached ArtBridges/ToileDesArts and asked what arts organizations/programs/projects worked with at-risk children and youth in the Ottawa area to be a recipient of the event. ArtBridges/ToileDesArts directed them to four groups and shared fundraising event-planning information with them. The benefit raised over $1,000.

ArtBridging for community-engaged arts initiatives
RaY, a street-level agency working with homeless youth in Winnipeg, asked ArtBridges/ToileDesArts who to talk with for advice about setting up an arts-based pre-employment program for street-entrenched youth. We led them to : The Murphy Centre for Community Youth Arts in St. John’s, Street Culture Kidz Project in Regina and ArtHeart in Toronto – all agencies that had experience in providing this service.

ArtBridging for capacity building

  • The founder of community arts organization Six Ah Wi (a Toronto-based group of African-Canadian emerging artists) called ArtBridges/ToileDesArts and asked for help finding new Board members. ArtBridges/ToileDesArts posted about this need on our network and directed him to other resources that could help.

  • Both Parkdale Activity-Recreation Centre (PARC) and 220 OAK Street Potters asked ArtBridges/ToileDesArts for examples of organizational and program policies and procedures in order to adapt them for their arts programs.  We sourced a few and provided them with the material.

Accessibilité:   A A

Les bienfaits de l’art communautaire

La création et l’expression artistiques rassemblent les enfants, les jeunes, les adultes et les personnes âgées dans des ateliers communautaires où en plus d’apprendre des techniques artistiques, ils acquièrent des habiletés fondamentales et du leadership, tout en favorisant le développement économique.

L’art communautaire profite aux quartiers et aux individus en rendant le voisinage plus vivant, en participant à la prévention du crime, en soutenant la santé mentale et physique, en contribuant au succès scolaire et à l’employabilité de même qu’en augmentant l’engagement communautaire, favorisant ainsi la revitalisation locale.

Cela se confirme chaque fois, partout au Canada dans les quartiers défavorisés, les communautés en proie à de grosses difficultés ou isolées en raison de leur éloignement géographique.

Quelques histoires d’art communautaire

Nous voulons partager avec vous quelques histoires inspirantes à propos de l’art communautaire à l’action. Bonne lecture!

  • DAREarts, Webequie, ON: Le récit de la réappropriation de leur pouvoir par les jeunes d’une communauté nordique grâce à la cocréation d’une chanson.
  • The Nina Haggerty Centre for the Arts, Edmonton, AB: Une histoire inspirante du centre des arts Nina Haggerty, où des adultes ayant une déficience développementale mettent l’accent sur la création artistique et sur leur développement en tant qu’artistes.
  • Le Festival de films par et pour les jeunes, Edmunston (Nouveau-Brunswick) : Découvrez ce festival francophone du Nouveau-Brunswick qui offre un espace d’expression aux jeunes de 6 à 18 ans en les initiant à la production vidéo et en diffusant leurs films, ainsi que d’autres vidéos réalisés par des jeunes d’ici et d’ailleurs.

Ce que les gens disent d’ArtBridges/ToileDesArts :

Merci @ArtBridges ! Une super ressource pour découvrir d’autres projets d’art communautaire tripants! - #communityarts #Canada @muralroutes

 

À la Fondation Michaëlle Jean, nous aimons recevoir régulièrement des nouvelles d’ArtBridges, qui nous donne un riche aperçu et une bonne idée de la vitalité du milieu de l’art pour le changement social au Canada. – Peter Flegel, directeur des communications et des programmes, Fondation Michaëlle Jean

 

ArtBridges/ToileDesArts nous a mis en relation avec des organismes autochtones et des boutiques d’art, etc. Nous ne pourrions pas être plus satisfaits de notre relation avec ArtBridges/ToileDesArts, qui a fait un travail extraordinaire pour soutenir notre campagne et, surtout, les jeunes du Nord. Miigwetch. » – Lauren Akbar, coordonnatrice jeunesse Mamow Sha-way-gi-kay-win: North-South Partnership for Children 

 

Je suis vraiment content que vous m’ayiez mis en contact avec SYiM (Southern Youth in Motion); la journée a vraiment été super. Il y avait aussi une exposition venant de la réserve de Pikangikum . J’étais là avec ArtsCanCircle et Carol Teal — elle aussi, elle a vu mes oeuvres grâce à ArtBridges. Merci pour tout (…) En fait, Carol m’avait trouvé sur le site d’ArtBridges; puis Lauren (SYiM) aussi. Et puis quand j’ai travaillé à la Peel Alternative School à Brampton, dans le Nord, je les ai rencontrées toutes les deux la même journée! Imaginez! - Michael Cywink, Community Artist

 

Merci pour tout le soutien que vous avez donné à notre projet, et pour l’expérience et les connaissances que vous avez partagées avec nous. (...) Comme nous travaillons tous et toutes de notre côté, dans des organismes offrant des programmes d’art à des jeunes qui vivent toutes sortes de situations, nous avons besoin de l’étincelle ou de l’impulsion qui surgissent quand on est en lien avec un réseau plus vaste, quand on a une vue d’ensemble du travail communautaire effectué. Cela nous permet de connaître d’autres organismes qui partagent notre vision et d’établir des relations avec eux, ce qui valide et renforce notre travail. Nous gagnons beaucoup, notamment en efficacité, à apprendre des expériences des autres personnes qui ont des buts similaires aux nôtres.

Voici quelques-unes des choses les plus utiles que vous avez fait pour nous : avoir partagé votre expérience et celle d’autres personnes à propos du développement de programmes, du marketing et du financement, nous avoir donné une rétroaction positive sur l’orientation de notre programme et nous avoir mis en contact avec le mouvement pancanadien qui cherche à offrir des programmes d’art (avec tous les bienfaits qui en découlent) aux enfants qui autrement n’y auraient pas accès.

En nous faisant découvrir ce réseau, vous nous avez insufflé une nouvelle énergie à un moment où nous commencions à grandir et où nous nous sentions un peu isolés et incertains de la voie à suivre, entre autres pour le financement. Merci! Shirley Hunt, travailleuse sociale, co-fondatrice et directrice, Focus on Nature, Guelph (Ontario). “Inspirer les enfants à explorer et à apprécier la nature grâce à la photographie”

Quelques succès de la ToileDesArts

ToileDesArts [twal-dez- aR]

Plate-forme de réseautage pour l’art communautaire favorisant la collaboration et le partage de ressources entre des projets, des programmes ou des organismes, au bénéfice de la collectivité.

Tisser la Toile de Hay River (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) au Nunavik (Nord-du-Québec)
Des gens d’une communauté inuit du Nunavik (dans le Nord-du-Québec) nous ont demandé de l’aide pour trouver une personne capable d’enseigner le tissage de crin de caribou. Ils avaient les fonds nécessaires au déplacement aérien du formateur ou de la formatrice, mais ils ne trouvaient personne. Nous avons communiqué avec 12 ressources d’Ontario, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de Terre-Neuve et du Yukon, et diffusé la demande. Grâce à nos contacts et à notre soutien, la communauté inuit a trouvé et engagé sa personne-ressource, qui venait de Hay River, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Collecte de fonds pour un projet d’art communautaire à Ottawa
Des étudiants en éducation de l’université d’Ottawa devaient organiser un événement-bénéfice dans le cadre de leurs études. Pour déterminer à qui iraient les fonds amassés, ils ont demandé à ArtBridges/ToileDesArts quels projets d’art communautaire travaillaient avec des enfants et des jeunes à risque dans la région d’Ottawa. ArtBridges/ToileDesArts leur a parlé de quatre projets et leur a fourni des informations utiles pour l’organisation d’un événement de collecte de fonds. Leur événement a ramassé plus de 1000 $.

Des organismes pour les jeunes de la rue, en lien grâce à la ToileDesArts
Les intervenants de RaY, un organisme de rue qui travaille avec les jeunes sans-abri à Winnipeg, ont demandé à ArtBridges/ToileDesArts à qui ils pouvaient s’adresser pour recevoir des conseils sur le démarrage d’un programme de préemployabilité fondé sur les arts à l’intention des jeunes de la rue. Nous les avons dirigés vers le Murphy Center for Community Youth Arts à Saint-Jean (Terre-Neuve), le projet Street Culture Kidz à Régina et ArtHeart à Toronto – tous des organismes qui ont de l’expérience dans le domaine.

Renforcement des capacités grâce à la ToileDesArts

  1. La fondatrice de Six Ah Wi, un collectif de jeunes artistes afro-canadiens de Toronto a téléphoné à ArtBridges/ToileDesArts pour demander de l’aide dans la recherche de nouveaux membres pour son conseil d’administration. Nous avons diffusé cette demande dans notre réseau et l’avons dirigée vers d’autres ressources qui pourraient l’aider.
  2. Le Parkdale Activity-Recreation Centre (PARC) et l’organisme 220 OAK Street Potters, tous deux de Toronto, nous ont demandé des exemples de politiques organisationnelles et de programmation pour qu’ils puissent les adapter à leurs programmes artistiques. Nous en avons trouvé quelques-uns pour eux.